Drug and Alcohol Policy
Possession, use, or sale of illegal drugs (as defined by the Texas Penal Code) on campus is a violation of state law and violators will be prosecuted. The UTA PD will enforce federal and state drug laws. State laws relating to alcoholic beverages, as defined by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, will be strictly enforced by UTA PD. Possession, sale, and/or use of alcoholic beverages on campus are prohibited by UTA policy, with the following exceptions:
Information regarding State of Texas law governing alcohol can be obtained in the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code. A few excerpts are highlighted below:
Purchase or Consumption by Minor: It is illegal for persons under 21 years (minor) of age to purchase or attempt to purchase alcohol by a minor. Penalties include:
- Fine of not less than $250 or more than $2,000
- Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days; or
- Both the fine and confinement
Sell, Purchase, or Furnish Alcohol: It is illegal for anyone (regardless of age) to sell, purchase, or furnish alcohol to a minor. Penalties include:
- Perform community service for not less than 20 or more than 40 hours; and
- Attend an alcohol awareness program approved under Section 106.115; and
- Order the Department of Public Safety to suspend the driver’s license/permit
Residential: A person of legal age (21) may possess and consume alcoholic beverages inside his/her campus residence (residence halls, apartments, fraternity houses, etc.) pursuant to relevant housing regulations.
Events: The President of UTA may waive this prohibition with respect to any event sponsored by The University of Texas System or UTA if the following criteria are met:
- An event must be sponsored by a budgeted office, department, or division of UTA.
- The sponsor is responsible for organizing the event, inviting attendees, and paying expenses related to the event, including purchases of food and beverage.
DRUGS AND DRUG PARAPHERNALIA
The State of Texas prohibits the manufacture, sale, delivery, possession, or use of a controlled substance without legal authorization. A controlled substance includes any drug, substance, or immediate precursor covered under the State of Texas Controlled Substance Act, including but not limited to opiates, barbiturates, amphetamines, marijuana, and hallucinogens. The possession of drug paraphernalia is also prohibited under the State of Texas law and UTA policy. Drug paraphernalia includes all equipment, products, and material of any kind that are used to facilitate, or intended or designed to facilitate, violations of the State of Texas Controlled substance Act. Alleged violations of this policy may result in criminal charges and will also be adjudicated through UTA Student Conduct. State of Texas Statue - Chapter 481 – Texas Controlled Substances Act.In addition to criminal charges and/or fines (if applicable), any student found to be in violation of UTA’s drug and alcohol policies will be referred to Student Affairs. Drug and/or alcohol abuse counseling may be required. Faculty or staff found to be in violation may be referred to the appropriate supervisor.
UTA seeks to provide its students, faculty, and staff with a drug-free environment. In accordance with the Drug Free Schools and Communities Act, UTA is required to annually notify students, faculty, and staff about (1) standards of conduct; (2) possible legal sanctions and penalties, (3) statements of the health risks associated with alcohol or drug abuse, (4) the institutions of higher education (IHEs) Alcohol or Drug programs available, and (5) disciplinary sanctions for violations of the standard of conduct.
THC-infused edibles may be legal in some states, but it's a felony to possess them in Texas. Bring them back here, and you risk consequences to your academic and criminal records - even jail time.
Be smart, and be safe. Don't take the risk.
Our partners at the Tarrant County District Attorney's Office have created some informative videos regarding THC-infused edibles that you can check out at the links below.